Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Flag Day!

In anticipation for Philippine Independence Day, I also happened to learn that June 12th was also the day the current Philippine flag was adopted. 

Correct me if I’m spelling this incorrectly, but it’s name is Tatlong Bituin at Isang Araw, which translated to American is Three Stars and a Sun. Like every work of art, everything that’s on the flag is there for a reason: 

  • The white triangle symbolizes liberty, equality, and fraternity
  • Blue strip for truth and justice 
  • Red strip for patriotism and valor 

For our mathematically-inclined readers, the width length ratio of the flag is 1:2, and there are eight rays in the sun. Each ray is representative of a province that made significant contributions for independence (Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Pampanga, Tarlac, Laguna, Batangas, and Nueva Ecija). The three other stars are representative of the main regions of the Philippines: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. 

Interestingly, in times of war, the flag is flipped upside down so that the red portion is on top. 

No comments:

Post a Comment